COMMITTEE REPORT

To: Chair and Members of the Planning Committee

From: Kyle Davis, Risk Management Official

Date: Thursday, June 08, 2023

Subject: CTC Source Protection Committee - Nomination of Municipal Representative

Background:

The County of Wellington is part of five Source Protection Regions established under the *Clean Water Act* for the purposes of protecting current and future sources of drinking water. Source Protection Regions are based on watershed boundaries and are overseen by multi-stakeholder Source Protection Committees that are established under the *Clean Water Act*.

The Source Protection Committee guide the development of the Assessment Reports and Source Protection Plans including overseeing regular amendments to the documents. The Source Protection Plans set out the policies for reducing, eliminating or preventing signficant threats to municipal drinking water supplies and establishes who has responsility for taking action, sets timelines and determines how progress will be measured. These Plans are the legal documents that Risk Management staff enforce to protect municipal water supplies. The Committee numbers vary, however, are all comprised of one third representatives from three broad sectors: municipal, public/non-governmental and industry/agriculture. Indigeneous representatives also serve on these Committees in addition to the other members. Each Committee has a Chair that is appointed by the Province.

Municipal representatives serve on the Source Protection Committees and represent groups of municipalities. These groups of municipalities vary between committees and are determined by the Conservation Authorities depending on the geographical boundaries of their watersheds. All Source Protection Committee members are appointed for either four- or five-year terms and many of the municipal representative terms coincide with the municipal election cycle.

Correspondence (attached) has been received from the Credit Valley, Toronto and Region and Central Lake Ontario (CTC) Source Protection Region related to the appointment of a municipal representative. Source Protection Committee members are expected to work about five days per year attending meetings and reviewing meeting materials. They are paid an honorarium and travel expenses at rates set by their respective Source Protection Regions. Currently, meetings are held virtually or hybrid. Prior to the pandemic, all Source Protection Committee meetings were in person.

For the CTC Source Protection Committee, Dave Kentner previously served as the municipal representative for the Region of Halton and County of Wellington grouping from 2007 until his resignation in February 2023. The Town of Halton Hills has nominated Councillor Alex Hilson of the Town of Halton Hills and has circulated the nomination to the Town of Erin and the County for consideration. The Town of Erin's CAO also serves on the CTC Source Protection Committee as the provincially appointed Chair.

Comments:

On May 11, 2023, the Town of Erin Council passed a resolution supporting Alex Hilson as the municipal representative. The Town of Erin has been ably served in the past by a Town of Halton Hills Councillor on this Committee (Dave Kentner) so there is no concern regarding communication of Town concerns or issues as it is anticipated those processes would continue.

It is recommended that County Council support the nominations of Alex Hilson as the municipal representative to the CTC Source Protection Committee.

Recommendation:

That Wellington County Council support the nomination of Alex Hilson as the municipal representative of the CTC Source Protection Committee.

Respectfully submitted,

Kyle Davis

Risk Management Official

Attachment

1. CTC Source Protection Committee Municipal Member Nomination